Rohtasgarh Fort is one of India’s ancient forts, constructed in the city of Rohtas and situated on the banks of the sone river. The fort has been ruined and cannot be accessed easily due to Naxalite activities. The hill on which the fort is situated has a 1500m. Tourists must climb the stairs to reach the fort’s gate, which is exhausting.
Ancient History of Rohtasgarh Fort
Some Historians say that the fort was built by Raja Harishchandra, who belonged to the Solar dynasty. He named the fort after his son name was Rohitashv.
Rohtasgarh Fort under Khayaravala Dynasty
Rohtasgarh Fort was under the rule of Shri Pratapa during 1223CE. An inscription in the fort tells that Pratapa defeated the Yavana army and captured the fort. As per the inscription, the historians concluded that Pratapa belonged to the Khayaravala dynasty.
The Hindu kings who succeeded the Khayaravala dynasty built a road to the fort and built four gates on four ghats. One gate can be seen at Raja ghat, and one at Kathauthiya ghat. Other inscriptions state that the fort belonged to Sher Shah Suri.
Rohtasgarh Fort under Sher Shah Suri
Sher Shah Suri captured the fort in 1539 and he did so because he lost the Chunar fort during a war with Humayun. Sher Shah told Raja Hari Krishan Rai, the ruler of Rohtas, that he wanted to keep his treasure and women in the fort’s safety. He brought his women and children in palanquins but later on, the palanquins that arrived had Afghan soldiers inside who captured the fort.
The king of Rohtas fled from the kingdom. During the reign of Sher Shah Suri, Jami Masjid was constructed by Haibat Khan in 1543. The mosque has three domes, and the whole mosque was built of white sandstone.
Rohtasgarh Fort under Raja Man Singh
Raja Man Singh was a general of Emperor Akbar who ruled Rohtas from 1558 onwards. Rohtasgarh Fort was inaccessible and a place to look after Bengal and Bihar quickly. So being the governor of those places, Man Singh made the fort his headquarters. He made improvements in the fort and built a palace for himself.
Rohtasgarh Fort under Mughals
Raja Man Singh died while being the ruler of Rohtas, and due to this, the fort came under the rule of a wazir of Emperor Akbar. Prince Khurram, who later changed his name to Shah Jahan, took refuge in the fort two times.
Once when he revolted against his father Jahangir and another time when he lost the battle of Kampat to capture Avadh. Murad son of Shah Jahan and brother of Aurungzeb was born here. During the reign of Aurungzeb, the fort was used as a prison and detention center.
Rohtasgarh Fort under British
The fort came under the rule of the British when they defeated Mir Kasim, the Nawab of Bengal. The Nawab came to take refuge in the fort but could not hide. Shahmal, the diwan of the fort, gave the keys to British Captain Goddard, who destroyed many structures in the fort.
He left the fort after two months and put two guards to guard the fort. The guards also left the fort after one year, and the fort was left in peace for the next 100 years. During the war of 1857, Amar Singh took refuge in the fort. There were many clashes between him and the British, who finally won.
Architecture of Rohtasgarh Fort
There are many structures that tourists can see during their visit to the fort. These structures include gates, temples, mosques, palaces, and many others. Some of these structures are as follows −
Hathiya Pol, or Elephant Gate, is one of the fort’s most enormous gates, built in 1597AD. The gate was named so because several figures of elephants can be found at the entrance. This gate is the main entrance to the fort.
Jama Masjid and Habsh Khan Mausoleum are beautiful structures made in stucco style. The architecture of the buildings is of Rajputana style as there are cupolas on the pillars.
Ganesh Temple is situated to the west of Man Singh palace. The temple’s architecture is also based on the Rajputana style, and the design is based on the temples constructed in Jodhpur and Chittorgarh.
There is a structure to the west of Ganesh Temple, which locals call a hanging house. The stricture is located at a place with a trench of 1500 feet. There is a legend that says that there was a fakir who was thrown down three times with his hands and legs tied, but nothing happened to him, so he was buried alive here.
Rohtasan and Devi Temples
Rohtasan and Devi’s temples are located in the northeast direction. Rohtasan was a Shiva temple whose roof and the central mandap was destroyed. The mandap was used to keep the lingam.
Rohtasan Devi Temple
The temple was constructed by King Harishchandra in 84 steps leading to the temple. The temple is also known as Chourasan Siddhi due to the presence of 84 degrees. Devi temple is also ruined, and the deity inside the temple is missing.
Singh Dwar is another entrance to the fort, and tourists can use jeeps to come here. There is a ghat nearby called Kathauthiya ghat, resembling a container. The road is very narrow, and there is entrenchment on both sides.