The Mahaparinirvan Express is a Buddhist Pilgrim Train that takes you across all the major Buddhist destinations in India and Nepal. The newest initiative of the IRCTC (Indian Railways Catering and Tourism Corporation) is a pan-India, 8-day journey to all those destinations which are considered to be the holiest Buddhist sites. Inaugurated in 2007, it has won the hearts of both Buddhist pilgrims and tourists with its facilities and brilliantly planned itinerary.

The Mahaparinirvan Express Journey is an elaborately, brilliantly planned journey of 8 days that commences and ends at Delhi. It takes you through India’s most important Buddhist pilgrimage sites, including Bodhgaya, Varanasi, Sarnath, Lumbini, and Sravasti. This well-planned itinerary not also takes you to the most critical places in Buddhism but also lets you enjoy sightseeing in the areas associated with Buddhism.

Inside The Mahaparinirvan Express

The Mahaparinirvan Express has 18 first AC berths, 92 two-tier AC berths, and 256 three-tier AC berths. Although not a luxury train per se, the Mahaparinirvan Express still affords excellent luxury and comfort to its passengers.

The Journey

The Mahaparinirvan Express journey is an elaborate, well-planned 8-day tour that begins and ends in Delhi. During its course, the Mahaparinirvan Express travels through prominent Buddhist pilgrim destinations of Bodhgaya, Varanasi, Sarnath, Lumbini, and Sravasti, besides the city of the Taj Mahal, Agra. All tour highlights are well spaced, and nowhere does the itinerary feels rushed.

The Mahaparinirvan Express is a lifetime experience that can be booked at really reasonable prices. Indian Luxury Trains offers comprehensive packages for the train’s upcoming journeys next year. Call us today or drop us an email, and we will get back on your tour query.


Dining in the Mahaparinirvan Express is also a luxurious affair, with the scrumptious meals served in a classy way. Hot and delicious meals are served on board the clean kitchen car.

Toilet facilities

The lavatories on board come with shower cubicles that supply hot and cold running water. Further, the western-style toilets are both spacious and comfortable. Excellent cleanliness is maintained throughout the journey.

About the train

The Mahaparinirvan Express, launched by IRCTC (Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited) in 2007, is a Buddhist Pilgrim Train that lets you visit all the major Buddhist pilgrimage destinations in India. This well-planned 8-day journey takes you to Buddhist pilgrimage sites, including Sarnath, Varanasi, Bodhgaya, Sravasti, and Lumbini.


Traveling in the Mahaparinirvan Express is a luxurious experience, especially as the accommodations are concerned. The train boasts three accommodations – First AC, First AC Coupe, and AC two Tier.

The first AC comprises an air-conditioned coach with Deluxe cabins with 2/4 berths each. The AC 2 Tier consists of air-conditioned coaches with berths in two tiers with curtains.

Other facilities

In addition, the travelers are assured complete security and service throughout the journey. Security guards are present onboard the train, and at all times, there is CCTV surveillance. There is also a library for travelers who care to read while traveling.

Related Post